appointed juncture.

Image

There is something beautiful about sharing a meal. Pulling up a chair, defining space with the posturing of your bodies around a table and sharing in conversation through being nourished together is a place in time that cannot be recreated, no matter how hard you try. The words and plates shared are unique to those particular moments. The smells, the ambiance, the laughs, the flavors tasted during this appointed juncture are alluring… especially when in a different place than you normally find yourself. 

This weekend, I found myself around a wooden table in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina. It was a collection of people who organically would probably not have found themselves together sharing a meal, but that night, we did. We found common bonds, we laughed, we tried each others portions, and we told the stories of our lives. It was a scene I found myself captivated by. The light was just right, the chill streaming in from the front door kept us alert and I captured a slice of the setting with my camera; a moment I did not want to leave there.

Life is meant to be shared and meals are meant to be savored together. I am thankful for that moment in time where my path crossed with a few others in a town that my heart has grown to love over the years of best friends living there. That meal was delicious and the moments surrounding it all were worth committing to memory in the form of a snapshot.

Leave a Reply

